August 23, 2010

Geographer – Animal Shapes

Song takes 45 seconds to really get going. After that, it is synth pop-rock at its best.

Visit the band's website

August 22, 2010

Faded Paper Figures

Rating: 4/5
Skippable Tracks: 0
If you like: Postal Service, Owl City

July 26, 2010

Posting songs, not words

So I kind of miss blogging. But for the next month, all I am going to do is posting songs a few times a week. This is a song by Dntel, one of the members of The Postal Service -- also below. I promise to get back into it once the summer ends. For now, enjoy these songs.

May 30, 2010

My Portable Device Ep30

My Portable Device Ep29

My Portable Device Ep 28

Finally decided that it was time to post those podcasts that I've been meaning to post for the past few months. I'll also try to get back into reviewing some music. With the new construction happening at UMFM I will not be doing any more new shows for an undetermined amount of time, so enjoy these 10 shows until then.

- Miguel

April 27, 2010

Why bands should sell-out

One thing that has always bothered me a bit is when someone starts complaining that his favorite band has just sold-out. I agree that sometimes the music suffers, but I also understand that these bands are not put on earth just so I can be entertained. They need to make money too! They need to sell music.

Just look at how much one artist has to accomplish just to earn a minimum wage salary. It's ridiculous!

So if you love to pirate music, maybe think again. I'm not saying that I haven't ripped a CD from a friend. But I do support artists by attending the shows, buying shirts (no, I don't wear band t-shirts just to try to be cool), and CDs.

In fact, I gave up a few hours of studying to see Yukon Blonde -- pretty sweet show. I'll let you all know when they roll back into town.

April 10, 2010

New Stars Single

I finally found someone who posted the new Stars single, Fixed. It has a great sound, much like the Stars heard on Set Yourself on Fire.

Stars will be having a small an intimate concert at the Pyramid on May 10, 2010. Unfortunately, it sold out pretty quickly.

New album is being released June 22, 2010. I'll let you all know the moment I hear it. You'll be seeing a full review of that album for sure!